General election 2019 live | DMK releases election manifesto

3:45 pmDelhi BJP to move EC against AAPThe Delhi BJP said it would complain to the Election Commission that the Aam Aadmi Party was violating the model code of conduct by trying to incite communal tensions.Leader of Opposition in the Delhi Assembly Vijender Gupta said AAP’s Lok Sabha candidate Raghav Chadha tweeted images of a cow and its calf standing at a doorstep and wrote ‘Door to door campaigning by BJP’ which was liked by Delhi Chief minister Arvind Kejriwal.“We have taken an appointment with the Election Commission of India and will apprise them about how the AAP is politicising cow which is a symbol of harmony and trying to create communal tension,” he told reporters.3:00 pmPawan Kalyan to contest from Gajuwaka & Bhimavaram Assembly segmentsJumping into the electoral battle for the first time, Telugu film star and Jana Sena founder Pawan Kalyan will contest the April 11 Assembly election in Andhra Pradesh from Gajuwaka and Bhimavaram constituencies.Gajuwaka is in Visakhapatnam district and Bhimavaram in West Godavari.2:50 pmModi to interact with people on ‘Main Bhi Chowkidar’ campaign on March 31 As part of intensification of his ‘Main Bhi Chowkidar’ (I too am watchman) campaign, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, on March 31, will interact with people, who have pledged their support to the campaign, from 500 places across the country.At a press conference, senior BJP leader and Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad says the campaign has become a “people’s movement” as the ‘Main Bhi Chowkidar’ hashtag has been tweeted 20 lakh times and had 1680 crore impressions.1:45 pmTDP releases candidates’ listThe Telugu Desam Party (TDP) releases its list of 25 candidates for the general election in Andhra Pradesh, retaining a majority of the sitting MPs while nominating the kin of the incumbents in a couple of constituencies.Veteran Congress leader and former Union Minister V. Kishore Chandra Deo, who recently joined the TDP, has been given the ticket from the Araku (ST) constituency.Former Union Ministers Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy and Panabaka Lakshmi, who too quit the Congress in recent days, have been nominated from the Kurnool and Tirupati (SC) seats respectively.Nandamuri Balakrishna’s son-in-law, M Bharat, has got the Visakhapatnam ticket.Former Union Minister P Ashok Gajapati Raju has been re-nominated from Vizianagaram, while sitting MPs K Rama Mohan Naidu, Galla Jayadev, Kesineni Srinivas (Nani), Maganti Venkateswara Rao (Babu), Konakalla Narayana, Rayapati Sambasiva Rao, Sriram Malyadri, Nimmala Kistappa and N Siva Prasad have been given ticket again.12:00 noonFIR against Union Minister Jayant SinhaAn FIR was registered against Union Minister Jayant Sinha for allegedly violating the Model Code of Conduct while addressing students at the convocation ceremony of a management institute in Ranchi, police said on March 19.Mr. Sinha is the Union Minister of State for Civil Aviation and a BJP MP from Hazaribagh constituency in Jharkhand.“As per the direction by the district administration, the FIR was filed against Jayant Sinha yesterday [Monday] under Section 188 [Disobedience to order duly promulgated by public servant] of the IPC and under Section 123 of the People’s Representation (PR) Act at the Khelgaon police station in Ranchi,” a police officer said.Addressing the students at IIM-Ranchi on March 16, Mr. Sinha had allegedly sought their “blessings” for another five years, the officer said.All police stations have been asked to monitor violations pertaining to the model code of conduct, he said.The polling will be held for 14 Lok Sabha seats in Jharkhand in four phases from April 29.11:40 amAIADMK promises Amma Poverty Eradication Scheme in its manifestoAIADMK coordinator O. Panneerselvam read out the salient features of the party’s manifesto on Tuesday.The party promises a ‘Amma Poverty Eradication Scheme’ that would grant ₹1,500 a month for BPL families. The AIADMK vows to bring back Education to State list and get exemption to Tamil Nadu from NEET.Statehood to Puducherry, implementation of uniform civil code and an international probe into the alleged genocide and war crimes committed by Sri Lanka on Tamils during the Eelam War IV, also figures in the manifesto11:20 amSeparate agriculture budget, return of old pension scheme finds place in DMK manifesto

DMK president M.K. Stalin releases party’s manifesto for the Lok Sabha elections at Anna Arivalayam in Chennai on Tuesday.  

Two day after announcing the candidates, DMK on Tuesday released the party’s election manifesto.The DMK has promised to fight for the return of old pension scheme, reintroduction of control prices of petrol, diesel, and abolishing toll fee in highways among others.The manifesto also pitches for a separate budget for agriculture and hike of I-T exemption upto Rs. 8 lakh.The DMK couldn’t win a single seat in the 2014 general elections. It is contesting in 20 out of 39 seats in Tamil Nadu this time, leaving the other seats for its allies.11:10 amTripura BJP leader Subal Bhowmik quits partyIn a major development, Tripura BJP vice-president Subal Bhowmik quit the saffron party and is set to join the Congress, which is expected to nominate him as party candidate in West Tripura Lok Sabha constituency.Mr. Bhowmik’s dramatic decision preceded his midnight meeting with PCC president Pradyot Kishore Manikya. Mr. Manikya had reportedly agreed to nominate him in to the West Tripura constituency.“I am joining Congress today. Rahul Gandhi ji will announce my candidature from his rally at Khumulwng tomorrow,” Mr. Bhowmik told The Hindu on March 19.10:30 amJana Sena announces third candidates list for Andhra PradeshTelugu actor Pawan Kalyan’s Jana Sena party on Tuesday announced candidates for one more Lok Sabha seat and 13 Assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh.However, Pawan Kalyan’s name didn’t figure in this list too. He tweeted that he will contest from two seats.“General body is in their final discussion from which two constituencies , I should be contesting. Hopefully, they will let me know in an hour or later,” he said in the tweet.10:00 amComplaints against sitting MPs pour in at BJP feedback sessionThe BJP needs to get its act together in the two significant parliamentary constituencies of New Delhi and East Delhi in the run-up to the ensuing general election, Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman was told during a feedback session over the weekend.Ms. Sitharaman, who is the party’s Delhi in-charge for the Lok Sabha elections, met over 100 party office-bearers for a total of eight hours over two days to assess the performance of the BJP’s incumbent MPs in all the seven Lok Sabha seats.According to sources, the feedback and suggestions given to Ms. Sitharaman, included not repeating candidates on the New Delhi and East Delhi seats, and issues such as lack of “public connect” marring the performance of both sitting MPs, some probable candidates and even the current State leadership of the party.The current sitting MPs are Meenakshi Lekhi from New Delhi and Maheish Girri from East Delhi.